Swiss democracy as a mobile game

With the launch of Democratia: The Isle of Five, a mobile game for smartphones and tablets, Avenir Suisse is treading new ground in terms of methodology, content, and communications. The virtual board game is a playful approach to direct democracy in Switzerland and a new way of simulating the country’s political discourse. It’s now available for download free of charge in five languages, including Romansh, in the Apple Store and in Google Play.

Democratia is a virtual board game for up to five players that presents Switzerland as an island inhabited by five different tribes. Each player leads one of these tribes with the aim of increasing its resources and pushing through their own political agenda. As in Switzerland, regular referendums are held in Democratia. But these aren’t the only factors influencing the game and the distribution of resources on the island. There are also all sorts of random events, some based loosely on reality, and others more tongue in cheek, the product of pure imagination. But try as they might to push through their own agenda, the Tellis, Novatars, Admins, Globos, and Vertis always have to keep an eye on the fate of the other tribes: if any one tribe loses all its resources, the whole island perishes, and the game ends prematurely with no winner.

Democratia’s supposed to be fun. But it’s also designed to provoke discussion and demonstrate that this country needs cooperation as well as competition to move ahead. Players have to make various strategic decisions: do I take resources from others (by poaching members of another tribe), or do I rely on my own tribe’s high degree of motivation? How can I best influence the results of referendums in the interests of my tribe? Whether it’s played in the family, with friends, or at school, Democratia is a guaranteed source of lively debate.

It’s not just geared to Swiss people, but for anyone interested in political questions and games of strategy. Democratia can be played in five languages: English, German, French, Italian – and Romansh. It’s available for immediate download from the Apple Store and from Google Play. The game is free of charge and contains no in-app purchases.

The Five Clans

Novatars enjoy inventing and experimenting. Their resource is innovation.

Globos are traders and have cross-border trade as a resource.

Vertis: You like nature. Their resource is the environment.

Tellis are sceptical about the outside and modernization. Their resource is the security and sovereignty of the island.

Admins ensure peace and order on the island. Their resource is solidarity.

Technical and other details:

  • Multiplayer mobile game for up to five players, playable on tablets and smartphones
  • 100% free, no in-app purchases, no pay-to-win functionality
  • To play the game with other people, all players must be in the same WLAN.

Thank you for your interest and we hope you enjoy playing!


You might also be interested in:
You might also be interested in:
https://www.avenir-suisse.ch/en/microsite/democratia-the-isle-of-five

La démocratie suisse en tant que jeu mobile

Avec le jeu de société «Democratia – The Isle of Five» pour smartphones et tablettes, Avenir Suisse innove. Ce jeu propose une approche ludique de la démocratie directe en Suisse et simule le discours politique d’une nouvelle manière. Il est maintenant disponible en cinq langues – dont le romanche – et peut être téléchargé gratuitement sur l’App Store d’Apple et le Play Store de Google.

«Democratia» est un jeu de société pour cinq joueurs maximum et présente la Suisse comme une île avec cinq clans. Chaque joueur dirige un de ces clans dans le but d’augmenter ses ressources et de faire avancer son propre programme politique. Comme en Suisse, des référendums ont régulièrement lieu. Mais ceux-ci ne sont pas les seuls à influencer le déroulement du jeu et la répartition des ressources. Il y a aussi toutes sortes d’événements aléatoires, dont certains sont basés sur la réalité, tandis que d’autres relèvent de la pure fantaisie et avant tout destinés au divertissement. Mais autant les «Tellis», les «Novatars», les «Admins», les «Globos» et les «Vertis» sont engagés dans leur propre cause, autant ils doivent toujours garder un œil sur les autres clans : Dès qu’un clan perd toutes ses ressources, le pays tout entier périt et le jeu s’arrête prématurément.

«Democratia» est destiné à encourager la discussion, et il montre que pour un développement prospère, il faut non seulement de la concurrence mais aussi la volonté de coopérer. Les joueurs doivent faire des choix stratégiques : est-ce que je tire profit des ressources des autres (en volant les membres de leur clan) ou est-ce que je m’appuie plutôt sur la forte motivation de mes propres troupes ? Et comment puis-je gagner au mieux le soutien des autres acteurs lors de votes ? Des discussions intensives sont garanties avec «Democratia», que ce soit autour de la table familiale, dans un cercle d’amis ou dans une salle de classe.

Le jeu n’est pas uniquement destiné aux Suisses, mais à tous ceux qui s’intéressent à notre système politique et aux jeux de stratégie. «Democratia» peut être joué en cinq langues : français, allemand,, italien, romanche et anglais. Il est disponible en téléchargement sur l’App Store d’Apple et le Play Store de Google. Le jeu est gratuit et ne comprend aucun achat intégré dans l’application.

Les cinq tribus

Les novatars aiment inventer et expérimenter. Leur ressource est l’innovation.

Les globos sont des commerçants et ont le commerce transfrontalier comme ressource.

Vertis : Vous aimez la nature. Leur ressource est l’environnement.

Les Tellis sont sceptiques quant à l’extérieur et à la modernisation. Leur ressource est la sécurité et la souveraineté de l’île.

Les Admins assurent la paix et l’ordre sur l’île. Leur ressource est la solidarité.

Détails techniques et autres :

  • Jeu mobile multijoueurs pour cinq joueurs maximum, jouable sur tablettes et smartphones
  • 100% gratuit, pas d’achat dans l’application, pas de fonctionnalité « pay-to-win
  • Pour jouer avec d’autres personnes, tous les joueurs doivent être dans le même WLAN.

Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt et espérons que vous prendrez plaisir à jouer !


Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser:

Dossier Covid-19

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser:

Dossier Covid-19

https://www.avenir-suisse.ch/fr/microsite/democratia-the-isle-of-five